Aftermath and Survival after Typhoon Frank

In less than 24 hours after I posted “New Washington Got Hit By Typhoon Frank”, my heart was so touched by the amount of concern, thoughtfulness, care, help and prayers I got from fellow Filipinos, Aklanons and even foreigners.

I have come to realize that God is great.

Early this year, New Washington inaugurated the monument of Cardinal Sin, in our town plaza. It was indeed a center of attraction for everyone.

But after the Typhoon, this is what it looks like:

5 days after the typhoon, still New Washington and the rest of the towns Aklan doesn’t have electricity, and no water supply.

The municipality of New Washington though was fast enough to clear the trees, electrical posts and clean up the town plaza. Relief goods are now being distributed at the municipal hall. Free charging of mobile phones are now being offered at the municipal hall and at the Smart Tower.

During lunchtime, a helicopter landed at the grounds of Aklan State University. People from all walks of life rushed to the area. Some were in awe watching a helicopter land, but mostly people are all expecting to get help.

As the helicopter landed, a team of Filipino soldiers went down. Mayor Peralta and his team welcomed the visitors.

Soon 3 boxes of mineral water and few boxes of relief goods were unloaded from the helicopter.

I was thrilled with joy.Though I know that those boxes wouldn’t be enough for all the people in New Washington, help started to come in.

My husband said he saw another truck filled with rice being unloaded at the municipal hall.

I know that most of you would like to help us so my team and I started to put up a list of what we think we really need:

1. Medicine (for wounds, fever, cough and cold, diarrhea)

2. Mineral Water

3. Rice

4. Used Clothing

5. Canned Goods

6. (Katol) Mosquito Coil / Insect Repellant

7. Candles

8. Sleeping Mat (banig)

9. Noodles

10. Slippers (for those who have lost their slippers during the typhoon)

If you are a doctor or a medical professional, we would also benefit from a Medical Mission. New Washington only has one health center with one doctor, and with hundreds of people affected by the typhoon our medical team wouldn’t be enough to cater to everybody’s needs.

Supplies for building the houses such as bamboo, and nipas are now running out of stock. One piece of bamboo now costs 80-90 pesos. The increasing amount of materials is hurting a lot of families esp those that doesn’t have enough to buy the materials.

Here are some actual photo’s of Geove’s house:

My mom cried informing me that she sold our Mango Tree that fell off for 600 pesos to a realtive whose house was washed out by the typhoon. She used that to buy rice, 3 pieces of medicine for her hypertension and one box of Nido for Mikee. My heart felt like shattering into pieces.My mom is almost 70 years old.

I just sighed and said to myself, this too shall pass…

People from all walks of life, people that I haven’t met at all, have showed enormous love and care thru emails and comments on this article. I can’t help but shed a tear everytime I read all of your emails and messages.But this time, its no longer tears filled with sadness and fear, but tears of happiness and gratitude.

I still continue to pray that help continues to pour in.

My husband and I are planning to go to Roxas City this weekend and purchase groceries for my family and my team and their families. For those who wanted to give a little help or even just a small amount of donation for us, my team and their families, you can deposit some funds into my debit card:

You can load our prepaid debit card online. Visit www.payoneer.com

Instructions for loading the debit card:>

1. At the Payoneer’s homepage, click on: Load Money

2. Choose: Load Card by Payoneer prepaid card number

3. Enter our email address: epvirtualassistant@gmail.com

4.. It will take you to payment method page, you can choose whether payment will come from a Visa Credit Card or Debit Card, MasterCard, Direct Bank Debit or Load Cash. Choose the amount you want to load onto the prepaid card then click on “continue”

5.. Next, you need to enter your credit card holder and billing address details, as well as your cc details. Then Click on “Continue”

If ever you need any help on loading the debit card, Payoneer has a live person chat that you can ask help from or you can chat or email me for questions.

Thank you for all your prayers, concern, care, love and donations to us. In behalf of my team and my family, our sincerest thanks.

I will continue to update you guys with what’s happening with New Washington as much as I could so please continue to include us in your prayers.

3 thoughts on “Aftermath and Survival after Typhoon Frank

  1. Please take down your card number and replace it with your email address. You can load the card with your email address. Anyone can steal your card number now.

  2. Pingback: Remembering Typhoon Frank « Ella’s Virtual Nook

Leave a Reply

