Getting to Know Poker

I am a lousy card player. The only game I know is Lucky 9! So, I would like to know more about card games. Poker seems to be one of the most famous card game of all.

Here are some insights I learned about poker:

Wikipedia defines poker as:

Poker is a type of card game in which players bet on the value of the card combination (“hand”) in their possession, by placing a bet into a central pot. The winner is the one who holds the hand with the highest value according to an established hand rankings hierarchy, or otherwise the player who remains in the hand after all others have folded (the player who makes an un-called bet.).

There are different variations when playing poker. There’s straight, stud, draw and community. Just reading wikipedia alone makes my head already dizzy.

So I thought I should be asking help from the experts. Im lucky because my hubby is an expert poker player. He knows a lot of card games. Last night, I asked him to teach me how to play poker.

He started with explaining the rules of the game. And believe me I got lost. I feel this is far more complex than my Mathematics subject! He laughed.

I tried to digest all the things he’s telling me. But it doesn’t seem to go down the drain. After a few hours of trying it out. He gave up. I laughed.

I made a compromise. I told him I would try my best to learn the game if he will also try his best to learn more about the internet (he’s not a computer genius!). He stopped for a while and looked at me doubtfully.

After a few minutes, he said “its a deal”.

This is only the first part of my posts about my journey as I venture inside the world of poker. Wish me luck!

5 thoughts on “Getting to Know Poker

  1. Pingback: Getting to Know Poker

  2. Pingback: Getting to Know Poker

  3. Pingback: The Folding Fool » Blog Archive » Getting to Know Poker

  4. What site are you going to play at?

    What stakes are you going to start off with?

    Are you going to be playing cash games, sit and gos or multi-table tournaments?

    If you need advice I can help you. I’ve built my bankroll on pokerstars from nothing so I can definitely help you if you need it.

    Anyway, good luck and I’ll be looking forward to seeing your journey.

Leave a Reply

