Attending the Higantes Parade at Kalibo

Boy yesterday was a blast! It is my first time to personally attend the Higante (Giants) Festival yesterday at Kalibo. I brought my 2 year-old daughter and hubby with me. This is the 2nd year that Ati-Atihan Festival hosted a Higante Festival. Municipalities from all over Aklan created their own entries and it was truly a sight to remember. I took some photos of the entries that was there and I want to share them with you!

Here’s the entry from Buruanga.img_0007

Here’s the entry from Kalibo. I personally like this too.. This is one of my top 3 bet 🙂img_0019

This is the entry from Malinao. Loved the snake and the rat that the giant is holding. LOL

img_0025

Entry from Nabas. They used their main product which is the “banig”. It’s a native wooven material.img_0030

This is from my hometown of New Washington. Since I am from here and I want to share this with all the people from New Washington. I posting more photos. Keep Scrolling down cause its fun to see our very own Giant!

img_0037

The Dance Troupe from New Washington

img_0039

The band! This group is being lead and managed by a good friend Brgy. Capt. Samuel Remigia. (He’s the one with a green hat).img_0043

Our Higante is riding a boat. Two things. New washington is a town by the beach and the main livelihood here (before) is fishing. But now a days most of the men here are working as a Seaman / SeaFarer abroad.

On a closer look… Did they create this giant after Pres. Obama? (LOL)

img_0056

img_0054

Hope you enjoyed looking at the pictures! This is a busy week here in the province of Aklan because of the Ati-Atihan festivals and I will be your eyes all throughout! 🙂 Lets enjoy the festivities together.

3 thoughts on “Attending the Higantes Parade at Kalibo

Leave a Reply

